Monday, November 16, 2009

Drupal wins Hall of Fame Award in the 2009 Open Source CMS Awards

Drupal has won the
Hall of Fame Award in the 2009 Open Source CMS Awards. Drupal previously won the 2007 and 2008 Best Overall Open Source CMS Award. As a result of the previous wins, Drupal graduated to the Hall of Fame along with Joomla.

It is a great honor for the Drupal community to be the first winner of the Open Source CMS Hall of Fame Award. The Drupal community has worked hard to improve Drupal by adding internationalization, enhancing security, facilitating customization, increasing extensibility, and easing the user experience. This award is a great complement to winning the 2009 Open Source PHP CMS for the second year in a row. This critical recognition helps build both momentum and excitement towards releasing Drupal 7 in 2010.

This award has a $4000 prize, bringing the total prize money from the Packt Open Source CMS awards to $6000. The money will go to the Drupal association to help pay for infrastructure, marketing, and Drupalcon events.

Three members of the Drupal community have also won awards for MVP, Hall of Fame best module and best theme. We will recognize those winners on the front page tomorrow.

Join the forum

No comments:

Post a Comment